GRINGA – In the Clutches of a Ruthless Drug lord Synopsis

‘Apologize, Payton!’ my father shouts. ‘Apologize, please. He’ll kill you.’
In spite of the 9mm jabbed under my chin, I look my murderer in the eye, think of all he’s put me through and say, ‘ F**k him!’
Diablo’s bushy eyebrows disappear behind his fringe of dreadlocks.
‘Senor, please forgive her,’ my father says. ‘She …she doesn’t realize what she’s saying. Please!’
When Diablo laughs, I slap him across the face.
Slack-jawed, he releases me.
Some of the villagers fall to their knees and start to pray.
With a snarl, Diablo steps back, cocks his 9mm and points it at me.
The villagers scatter.
I should beg for my life right now, get on my hands and knees and plead for mercy.
Instead, I hear myself say, ‘Go ahead you asshole. Shoot!’ I shut my weary eyes, hold my breath and brace myself for the bullet.

“Sassy, provocative and in need of anger management.”
That’s how family and friends describe 21 year old, Los Angeles university student, Payton Wagner.
While taking holiday photographs in remote Mexico, she is accosted by the “Devil of Mexico” – a ruthless, but reclusive drug lord named Diablo.
Accusing her of being a spy, he shoots her and throws her body off a cliff.
Fortunately, two hermit witchdoctors rescue her and nurse her back to health.
Months later, while making her way back to America, she runs into Diablo again, and this time, he not only wants to kill her but he also wants to burn down a village for housing her.
When she fights back, he becomes fascinated and bargains with her: become his woman and he’ll spare the lives of the villagers.
To save the villagers, she agrees. While living with him and his thuggish family, she is subjected to all kinds of physical, emotional and sexual abuse.
She’s in the grips of despair when help arrives in the form of the FBI stationed in Mexico, investigating Diablo for killing two cops, among other things.
Payton is secretly recruited by them. All she has to do is to take advantage of Diablo’s fascination with her and lure him into confessing the murders on tape.
Since he desperately wants to impress her, wrangling a confession out of him is easy.
Diablo is now going to jail, Payton will be free of her tormentor and the villagers will get their freedom back. Why then does she suddenly refuse to co-operate with the FBI?

To read more visit:

http://www.amazon.com/Gringa-Clutches-Ruthless-Drug-ebook/dp/B005CQBCJA

Reviews of Gringa:

4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story but I wish for a different ending, July 20, 2012
By
M. Melo (Westfield, IN) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Gringa – In the Clutches of a Ruthless Drug Lord (Kindle Edition)

This book for the most part is laughing out loud funny. I absolutely loved Payton as narrator. This book has some minor editing errors (and most of the phrases in Spanish are wrong) but not enough to distract from the story. The story is original and compelling.

I thouroughly enjoyed it and would have given it a 20 out of 5 in the rating ( making it to my top 5 of all times) should it not have been by the way it ended. Don’t want to give it away but I was heartbroken with it.

This book made me laugh and ball my eyes out. Great book.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful yet tragic, July 19, 2012
By
booklvr (middle of nowhere, usa) – See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Gringa – In the Clutches of a Ruthless Drug Lord (Kindle Edition)

Another author who made you love a character that started out as a true villain. This was an amazing love story that developed slowly and despite how unrealistic the circumstances were, the feelings between the two main characters was poignant and understandable. What a great book! I seriously read it in 24 hours. The ending left me weepy and even though the HEA wasn’t what I wanted, it still felt satisfying.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Romance, May 27, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Gringa – In the Clutches of a Ruthless Drug Lord (Kindle Edition)

I just finished this book and am still in awe. The storytelling in this book is fantastic. The book is narrorated in first person, which I normally don’t care for but this book was an exception. The author was able to capture everyone’s emotions with limited detail. I sampled the book and was immediately hooked. The characters were easy to like, hate and fall in love with. The romance here unravels at just the right pace to keep you focused and unable to put the book down. The chemistry between the main characters is layered in a way that not many authors are able to capture. It is definately a bittersweet romance. The heroine is perfect, not too aggressive and not too timid. She is someone easy to relate to that is a genuinely good person. The hero is not depicted in a good light until you really get to know him. He is strong, in control but willing to be soft when it comes to the heroine. Anyone looking for a strong romance that you won’t be able to put down, this is one of those books. I absolutely loved this book!
(There are some grammical errors in the book, but the story is so well told I didn’t really care)

For more reviews visit:’

http://www.amazon.com/Gringa-Clutches-Ruthless-Drug-ebook/product-reviews/B005CQBCJA

Leave a Reply

